The Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines (AACCUP) evaluated 10 programs for level 4 accreditation last September 29-Oct 5, 2015. Level 4 is the highest status of accreditation in the AACCUP standards. Level 4 has two sub-levels, the Qualified for level 4 (Level 3-reaccredited status) and Level 4 status. SSU will be submitting 10 programs, 2 post graduate, 3 graduate and five undergraduate degrees.

The following programs were subjected to thorough evaluation;

1.College of Graduate Studies

  • PhD in Educational Management
  • PhD in Technology Management
  • MA in Teaching
  • MA in Education
  • Master in Public Management

2.College of Engineering

  • BS Civil Engineering
  • BS Electrical Engineering

3.College of Education

  • BS in Technician Education
  • Bachelor of Secondary Education

4.College of Industrial Technology

  • BS in Industrial Technology

The different programs was evaluated based on the following areas: Area I (Vision, Mission, Goals and Objectives); Area II (Faculty); Area III (Curriculum and Instruction); Area IV (Support to Students); Area V (Research); Area VI (Extension and Community Involvement); Area VII (Library); Area VIII (Physical Plant and Facilities); Area IX (Laboratories); and Area X (Administration).

As of January 2013, there have been a total of 861 programs accredited from 102 State Universities and Colleges of the Philippines. Only 12 programs have accredited level 3 status, 3 programs qualified for level 4 and 2 programs level 4 re-accredited status.

For level 4, the average rating must not be lower than 4.5 (out of 5) with no area lower than 4.0. Further, conditions to reach Level IV accreditation, such as: demonstrate excellent outcomes in research, teaching and learning, community service, international linkages, and well-developed planning.

Category: News